Configure a K2 Process to Wait for Outside Events – Part 2

• 22 June 2021
  • 1 reply

Introduction

This is a follow-up to the post where I describe how we configure and complete asynchronous server events. I showed you how one can complete the server event using a REST call, but sometimes a REST call is not needed or possible. In this post I will extend the mechanism to make use of SmartObjects on a SmartForm.

Use Case

For this scenario, I am a technician, repairing customer machines on-site and I may not always have all the replacement parts on hand. When that happens, I can submit an order to the supplier which will deliver the part directly at the installation site. But, as we all know, deliveries are unpredictable and I won’t always be able to determine the actual delivery date and time.

To handle the variability, K2 will start a process when I submit the order, generate a QR code as part of the weigh bill and then wait for the next step. When the part is delivered, the receiving department will scan the QR code, which in turn will proceed to the next step where I will schedule the installation date with the customer.

The actual process will be more involved as one would typically wat to have the request approved if the part is over the budgeted amount, if special tools are needed for the installation, etc. but for this post I will focus on the asynchronous implementation. Here is what the flow looks like:
18371iD1811866EB0DE10A.png

Pre-preparation

As I will need to access the K2 Workflow REST endpoint in a SmartForm, the REST endpoint needs to be wrapped in a SmartObject. To do this:

1. Enable the REST API if it’s not enabled yet.
  2. Copy the swagger URL value and create a new REST Service instance using the swagger. I would recommend using a service/static account for this use case, you may opt for OAuth if you are planning on using real user identities.