explanation of WorklistItem.Status property

• 26 August 2005
  • 6 replies

Badge +4
hi all,

i'm looking to understand the difference between the Statuses that a WorklistItem can have

i'm new to K2 and working my way through the training guides to create a Windows application to do my client side interaction with the users for any client events within my process(es)

i am using the OpenWorklistItem method which seems to automatically set the status to Open, but when does it become allocated?

when i use the Release method, the status still says Open

can anyone help me understand this a little better?

many thanks,

Wes

6 replies

Badge +9
Hi Wez,

Imagine the following scenario:

I have an activity called Approval , the destination rule assigns a task to 5 users (A, B, C, D, E). The slots property of the Activity is set to 3. During runtime a worklist item gets created for each user.

All users open the worklist (Do not click on the item on any of the worklists)

A Available
B Available
C Available
D Available
E Available

User A clicks on his item to load the client page, this action causes the statuses to change as illustrated below:

A Open
B Available
C Available
D Available
E Available

Note: 1 slot allocated, 2 more required, that s the reason for the others to remain available.

User C clicks on his item to load the client page, this action causes the statuses to change as illustrated below:

A Open
B Available
C Open
D Available
E Available

Note: 2 slots allocated, 1 more required, that s the reason for the others to remain available.

User B clicks on his item to load the client page, this action causes the statuses to change as illustrated below:

A Open
B Open
C Open
D Allocated
E Allocated

Note: the allowed slots taken, K2.net Server will not allow any of the remaining users to interact with the allocated items.

A Worklist item can also have a Sleep status, this occurs once the user sleeps the item for a certain period of time.