Count inside a form?

• 16 January 2020
  • 1 reply

Badge

So I'm new to Nintex.  I've used mostly Infopath but am now being forced to change.  It looks like Nintex may have some capabilities that IP did not.  Here's what I'd like, and I'm hoping someone can tell me if this is possible.

I'm building a simple list with dates, numerical values (representing hours), and an option for AM/PM

My view is only going to show the current day, based on the date entry in the list.  Ideally I'd like to have a total value of hours available for each day, and requests pull those hours out of the bucket.

Since it's possible to place a calculated field in the form, is it possible to have it dynamically calculate the total hours value for the day?

Lets say my bucket for 01/15 is 16 hours AM and 24 hours PM, and my list looks like this:

Employee     Date       Hours     AM/PM

Dale              01/15      8             AM

Harry             01/15      8             AM

Hank              01/15     8             PM

....would it be possible when you go to enter a new item, the form would calculate and show available AM hours as 0 and PM hours as 16?  This is assuming there are more list items hidden because of the view parameters.

Thanks for taking a look, anyone who reads this.

1 reply

Badge +3

I assume that your intention is to have a form for the end users to fill out, with the form indicating the number of hours available for the respective date and AM/PM slot.
There may be a way to use a single list but the way that I went about this situation was by using two different lists. The example of the two lists were as follow:

(1st list) HourRequest
Employee      Date      Hours      AM/PM
Dale           01/15          8            AM
Harry          01/15         8            AM
Hank          01/15          8            PM

(2nd list) HourAvailable
Date      AM Pool      PM Pool
01/15      16                24
01/16      16                24
01/17      16                24