Email to the SharePoint Task list "Assigned to" field?

• 3 January 2013
  • 7 replies

Badge +2

I am still pretty new to this product, but I'm usually VERY good at learning quickly. However, I cannot seem to figure this one out. I have a column in a SharePoint Task list called "Assigned to". I would like to send a notification email to this person during the workflow process. However, it is clear that the workflow email step does not recognize the "Assigned to" field as an email address. I went in to the SharePoint list and had the field display the email address instead of the full name, but this doesn't work either. How can I send a notification to the person assigned to a task? This person is NOT the originator (the one who created the task). It's just the person assigned to it. Help please! I'm getting desperate and I've spent hours trying to figure this out.

FYI I am using K2 Designer for SharePoint 2010 to accomplish this.

Thank you in advance!

7 replies

Badge +9

Welcome to the forum! You can get this right by selecting the "Notify participants when they receive a work
item
" option that is part of the Participant configuration. The next step of the wizard will let you customize the email notification.

Badge +2

Thank you for your response, however, I think maybe I didn't make it clear what I'm trying to do.

Using the "Notify Participants" feature will allow me to notify the "Originator" (which is the person who created the task) OR the Originator's Manager (also not the person I want to notify). I don't want to predefine the participant either. What I would like to do is use the SharePoint column "Assigned To" people field to populate the email "to" field. The person that the task is assigned to is not going to be the "Originator" nor is it going to the the Originator's "Manager", and it will vary and may not be the same person every time (which is why I don't want to predefine it).