BCS Action

Badge +9

Hello

I have created an external content type and successfully was able to pull data from our sql table. However how do I pull data using the BCS action in Nintex?

I have a list where I have added the BCS action to it

190647_pastedImage_1.png

This is how I configured the action:

190652_pastedImage_2.png

When I click on the Run Now button I get the following to display:

190653_pastedImage_3.png

My question is how do I populate this data in my list? I got it to run successfully in the action but I want to be able to retrieve the data from the sql table into my list.

Thank you!!!

10 replies

Badge +3

While I am fairly new to Nintex as well, I believe you will want to use a For Each loop to look through the collections (assuming you made the storage variables collections).  Then, depending on how often you want to write back to the list, you either write back within the For Each loop so you write everytime, or you have some conditions within the loop to only write back to the list based on those conditions. 

So what I would do is store each value you're pulling in a collection (so make txtDate, txtCallDate, and txtCompany collections), create a For Each loop to loop through one of them assigning it to an index, then within the For Each loop make Run Parallel action with 3 collection operations, one for each Collection, which looks in the proper collection, at the index you assigned in the For Each loop, and assigns it to a variable.  So now each time it loops through you have all 3 items assigned to a variable and can write them to a list.

This gives some good information:

http://nintexdownload.com/Nsupport/tutorials/How%20to%20use%20the%20Collection%20variable.pdf

Badge +9

Hi Steven

I think I am almost there! I appreciate your help. This is what I have so far. Just so you know, my external content type has 19 records.