How to connect K2 blackpearl with MS SQL R2?

• 19 April 2012
  • 5 replies

Badge +2

Can somebody please tell me how to go about doing this? How do we connect the MS SQL server to the K2 blackpearl environment??

I have created a smart object called Employee. It contains Employee ID, Domain Name. I have created a table in SQL server that contains EmployeeID, Domain Name and EmployeeName. How do i connect the two? How do i retrieve the Domain Name based on the Employee ID through Smart Object?

It will be of GREAT help to let me know this. I'm extremely new to K2 and would really appreciate the help!! :-)

Thanks

Sravanthi

5 replies

Badge +10

Hi,

You need to configure the SQL Server Service Instance to point to your database using the SmartObject Service Tester found in your K2 blackpearlBin folder. Create a new Service Instance and specify the necessary parameters to have it connect to your DB.

After you have done this go back to your SmartObject and delete the default SmartBox methods. Switch the designer to Advanced mode and add a new method. Browse for the new Service Instance you have created and select the table you want to connect to and the relevant method. Next configure and bind all the properties. Repeat this for all methods you require and then save and deploy your SmartObject.

There is a shortcut from the SmartObject Service Tester to create a SmartObject directly after the Service Instance has been created. In the Service Instance expand to your table, right-click it and click on "Create SmartObject". This will create and publish a SmartObject exposing all the properties and methods of your SQL table and you can immediately test it by navigating to the actual SmartObject and executing a method.

I think there might be some help in the K2 Documentation, check that out as well.

Hope this helps!

Badge +9

Welcome to the K2 forum!

The steps provided by Johan is correct and will work when