Challenge: Expand textarea instead of scroll

Userlevel 7
Badge +11

SO I have had an interesting question put to me, and for the life of my I can't get any CSS tricks to work, so I thought jQuery might be a more elegant solution anyway.. So I found this jQuery Plugin For Smooth Auto-expanding Textarea - autoexpand | Free jQuery Plugins and I thought that is cool.

I'm the first one to put my hand up and say I am not a developer, and it is times like this, that I wish I had some moderate dev skill.. but alas..

So I'm throwing down the gauntlet.. What is the best way to have a multiline text field without using scroll bars that expands and I fill in more text... ?

12 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +17

Challenge Accepted!

I was able to add this plugin to a form and really like how it works on the form. To start, I have a list and a multiline text box using plain text. I created a new Nintex Form for the list and the controls were added. Download the plugin and upload it to your site. I uploaded to the Site Assets library.

dev1.PNG

From the form, go to the multiline text box control settings. Add a value to Control CSS Class. You will reference the internal textarea of the control by this class in JQuery.

dev2.PNG

Now to add the javascript to the form. Go to the Form Settings and in Advanced, add the includes for JQuery.js and the uploaded plugin js path in the Custom JavaScript Includes. Then in the Custom JavaScript area, add the code to reference the auto expand function on the element.

$(function(){

$('textarea.myTextAreaClass').autoExpand({animationTime: 1000});

});

Included in the function are options for the animation. You can also include window padding options.

dev3.PNG

I didn't make a GIF for you, but when I go to create an item on the list, as I type and go below the available space the first text will go up and disappear. Then the animation comes in and grows the text area height and I see all of the text at once.