Generate an HTML document with dynamic data

Document created by brad.orluk@nintex.com Employee on May 18, 2016Last modified by brad.orluk@nintex.com Employee on Apr 27, 2017
Version 2Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

This walk-through and workflow demonstrates how you can dynamically generate an HTML document using Nintex Workflow.

AuthorBrad Orluk
Long Description

An interesting scenario I ran into is one where a user wanted to create a form document quickly and easily (without having to call IT or leverage an outside solution or functionality such as InfoPath, Word Automation Services, etc.) that had dynamic text data from a SharePoint list.

This sounded like something that could be accomplished with some very basic HTML (full disclosure, I am NOT a developer and you don’t need to be to do this. So feel free to cut and paste some Google’d HTML “code”, for drawing an HTML table or use what I stuck into the Build HTML form action and you’ll be in business! :).

So, I went ahead and built a Nintex workflow that takes the column data entered into the list, builds a file name and performs an error check to determine if the file already exists in the library, generates the HTML document dynamically and then writes that document into a library.

Dependencies

N/A

Support Info

Generate an HTML document with dynamic data | Brad’s Blatherskite Blog

Compatibility

Nintex Workflow 2016

Nintex Workflow 2013

Nintex Workflow 2010

Platform

SharePoint Server 2016

SharePoint Server 2013

SharePoint Server 2010

Screenshots

docgen331144

The simple HTML document generated with this workflow

Setup

A Document Library named Customer Forms Library – (Template here)
A Custom List named Customer Data List – (Template here)

Building the Workflow

You’ll need to create some variables to store data for this workflow:

•          textFileName – Stores the name that the document will called once saved into the document library.