Summary:When Nintex was originally installed, we used the "deploy to all content web applications" option. We want to now remove it from some web applications, but even if we deactivate the feature and then retract the solution from the web application, the features are still listed in the site collection.
Product:All Workflow for SharePoint on-premises
The Nintex Workflow features are installed globally (they can’t be only deployed to certain Web applications, and certain site collections). This is the reason that solutions retracted from certain web applications are still showing up as a site features. The "Retract Solution" option will simply remove certain information (Safe controls) from the web.config for that Web application, making Nintex Workflow unusable (even though the features appear in the features list). Explained differently: Features are always deployed globally, so you cannot remove them from the site feature list. Once the solution is deployed, all the files are copied to the GAC and are available. SharePoint controls this behaviour and when a feature is added, it is defined at the farm level. if you try to activate the feature on a site where it has not been deployed you will still be able to design workflows, however our web parts will not work and you will get security issues. Deploying the solution will add some entries to the web.config file for that web application. Then running the web activation step in SharePoint Central Administration under the Nintex Workflow heading will also add some additional safe controls to the web.config that are not automatically added by SharePoint.