What happens when you delete AD user Accounts of resigned employees?

Document created by Emily Billing Employee on May 20, 2014Last modified by Emily Billing Employee on Jun 3, 2016
Version 1Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

Before deleting an AD (active directory) user account of resigned employees, you should understand what impact this will have on a workflow if that account is part of a workflow.

 

This will all depends on the role of the user in the workflow; because of this we've included a couple examples of what can happen if a user have been deleted.

 

  • The workflow attempts to send an email to the deleted user i.e. Assign Flexi Task or Request Approval, the workflow will fail to resolve the user to an email address and the workflow will error (stop) saying user not found.
  • An unanswered workflow task that had previously been assigned to a now deleted user will sit and wait for a response that will never come.

 

To address these issues, you can:

 

  • Manually delegate the task to another user (this will depend on how the assigning action was configured, as to whether this is possible. This would also involve manually visiting each task to manually delegate it to another user).

 

1 person found this helpful

Attachments

    Outcomes